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STEP 1: VISIT A PHYSICIAN WITH A CERTIFICATE TO RECOMMEND 
 
The first step to become a medical marijuana patient is to establish and maintain a physician-
patient relationship with a physician holding an active certificate to recommend (CTR) issued by 
the State Medical Board of Ohio. 
 

• To locate a CTR physician, click here. 
 

• An in-person visit with a certified physician is required at least once per year.   
 

• On March 18, 2020, the State Medical Board of Ohio met and voted to suspend 
enforcement of telemedicine regulations for licensees during the COVID-19 pandemic. 
This will allow physicians with a CTR to use telemedicine in place of in-person visits to 
make recommendations and renewals for medical marijuana.   
 

• The physician holding a CTR must confirm you have a qualifying condition to recommend 
the use of medical marijuana.  By law, patients with one of the following medical 
conditions may currently participate in Ohio’s medical marijuana program:  

o AIDS 
o Alzheimer’s disease 
o Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis 
o Cachexia [added by Medical 

Board on 7/8/2020] 
o Cancer 
o Chronic traumatic 

encephalopathy 
o Crohn’s disease 
o Epilepsy or another seizure 

disorder 
o Fibromyalgia 
o Glaucoma 

o Hepatitis C 
o Inflammatory bowel disease 
o Multiple sclerosis 
o Pain that is either chronic and 

severe or intractable 
o Parkinson’s disease 
o Positive status for HIV 
o Post-traumatic stress disorder 
o Sickle cell anemia 
o Spinal cord disease or injury 
o Tourette syndrome 
o Traumatic brain injury 
o Ulcerative colitis

 
• Certified physicians have access to the Patient Registry and will submit their 

recommendations for a patient to receive medical marijuana directly to the Patient 
Registry. 

https://med.ohio.gov/Publications/CTR-Search
https://www.med.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Resources/COVID-19/3_18%20Telemed%20Guidance%20Updated%20March%2018.pdf?ver=2020-03-18-215407-857
https://www.med.ohio.gov/Portals/0/Resources/COVID-19/3_18%20Telemed%20Guidance%20Updated%20March%2018.pdf?ver=2020-03-18-215407-857
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• The physician will need the patient’s valid Ohio driver's license, a valid Ohio 

identification card issued by the Ohio bureau of motor vehicles (BMV), or a valid United 
States passport. 

 
• A registered caregiver may possess and administer medical marijuana to patients with 

whom the caregiver's registration is associated. The certified physician will need similar 
identification from a caregiver to establish their profile in the Patient Registry. 
 

• On March 23, 2020, the State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy adopted a temporary process 
to register new caregivers during the COVID-19 pandemic.  For more information on 
this process, click here. 
 

• A certified physician can recommend up to a 90-day supply of medical marijuana with 
three refills (totaling up to 360-day supply if appropriate for the patient).  For more 
information on how a 90-day supply is calculated, click here.  

 

2. GET REGISTERED 

• Once a recommending physician has entered a patient or caregiver into the registry, 
the patient/caregiver will receive an email prompting them to login to their profile in 
the Patient Registry. In the registry, complete your application and pay the fee. 

• The annual cost of a medical marijuana registration is $50 for patients and $25 for 
caregivers.  

o Patients who qualify for indigent or veteran status may be eligible for fee 
reductions.  For more information, click here. 

 
3. FIND A DISPENSARY 

• After receiving your Patient & Caregiver Registry card, you may purchase medical 
marijuana from an Ohio dispensary that has received a certificate of operation by the 
State of Ohio Board of Pharmacy.   

• The following links provide information on dispensaries who have received a certificate 
of operation: 

o List of Ohio Medical Marijuana Dispensaries with Certificates of Operation 
o Map of Ohio Medical Marijuana Dispensaries with Certificates of Operation 

• Dispensary staff will counsel you on the appropriate type and dose of product for your 
condition. 

• Only patients with an active registry card, an active recommendation, and their 
associated government-issued ID can purchase medical marijuana. 

https://medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/Documents/CoronaVirus/Temporary%20Expansion%20of%20Caregiver%20Registration.pdf
https://medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/Documents/90DaySupply/Documents/90-Day%20Supply%20Resolution%20and%20Guidance.pdf
http://www.ohiomedicalmarijuanaregistry.com/
https://medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/Documents/PatientsCaregivers/Quick%20Reference%20Guide%20-%20Registering%20With%20Indigent%20Or%20Veteran%20Status.pdf
https://medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/Documents/Dispensaries/List%20of%20Ohio%20Medical%20Marijuana%20Dispensaries%20with%20Certificates%20of%20Operation.pdf
https://medicalmarijuana.ohio.gov/DispensaryLocations.aspx

	Step 1: VISIT A PHYSICIAN with a certificate to recommend

