TESTING

MMCP AND THE OHIO DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE RELEASE APPLICATIONS FOR TESTING LABORATORY LICENSE FOR PRIVATE ENTITIES

The MMCP and the Department of Commerce have released the application, forms, and instructions for private companies to apply for a license to conduct laboratory testing of medical marijuana and medical marijuana products.

TWO UNIVERSITY TESTING LABORATORY APPLICATIONS RECEIVED; APPLICATION PERIOD NOW CLOSED

In response to the Request For Applications from Ohio’s public institutions of higher education that was announced on July 26, 2017, the Department of Commerce received two applications from interested institutions. Central State University and Hocking College both submitted applications to the Department during the application window (September 11-22, 2017). These applications will be reviewed and scored in a time frame consistent with meeting the Medical Marijuana Control Program operational date of September 8, 2018.

In order to have enough capacity to meet the anticipated demand for medical marijuana laboratory testing services, the Department of Commerce will also accept applications for licensure from private testing laboratories, regardless of affiliation with higher education, between November 27, 2017 and December 8, 2017. The application will be posted in the near future and is very similar to the already published application for higher education.

Pursuant to O.A.C. 3796:4-1-01(B), the Department of Commerce may issue licenses to entities not affiliated with Ohio’s public institutions of higher education beginning on June 5, 2018. The Department intends to review and score applications received from privately held entities in advance of that date, in order that certificates of operation may be issued as soon as possible thereafter.


Frequently Asked Questions

  • • Who can operate a testing laboratory?

    For one year following the date on which the Department of Commerce begins accepting applications, licenses issued to conduct laboratory testing of medical marijuana will only be granted to institutions of higher education that are public, located within the state of Ohio, and have the resources and facilities necessary to conduct testing in accordance with the rules. After this one-year period, the Department will issue licenses to qualified private testing labs.

  • What is the cost of obtaining a testing laboratory license?

    The laboratory application fee is $2,000 and the certificate of operation fee is $18,000; a laboratory annual license renewal fee is $20,000.

  • How many testing laboratories will be licensed by the Department of Commerce?

    There is no limit to the number of testing laboratory licenses that may be awarded by the Department.

IMPORTANT DATES

Please note: The dates listed in this section reflect those specified in the law and are for informational purposes only. Rule adoption and program implementation may occur earlier than the dates specified.

Effective date of Ohio House Bill 523. HB 523 establishes the basic framework for Ohio’s Medical Marijuana Control Program.

8Sep2016

Testing Laboratory Rules Adopted. Ohio law requires the Ohio Department of Commerce to adopt testing laboratory rules by this date.

8Sep2017

Ohio law requires the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program to be fully operational by this date.

8Sep2018